The short answer
You can make an AI audiobook free, but where you can sell it depends on the store. ACX (Audible) doesn’t accept AI narration unless Audible has authorised it; Amazon’s route is KDP Virtual Voice.1,2 Kobo and Spotify for Authors accept AI-narrated audiobooks with a label, and Google Play and Apple Books offer their own AI narration.13,10,6,8
- ACX (Audible)
- Not unless authorised
- Kobo, Spotify
- Yes, labelled
- Google, Apple
- Their own AI
- Make one free
- In your browser
Where you can sell an AI audiobook
| AI narration accepted? | How | Label | |
|---|---|---|---|
| ACX (Audible, Amazon, Apple) | No | Only if Audible authorises it | – |
| KDP Virtual Voice | Amazon’s voices only | Invite-only US beta for Kindle ebooks; 40% royalty | Clearly labelled |
| Google Play Books | Yes | Its own auto-narration (52% share), or upload an LPF file | Not stated |
| Apple Books | Its own narration | Apple digital narration via partners; English | “Narrated by Apple Books” |
| Spotify for Authors | Yes | Tick “uses digital voice narration” | Added to description |
| Kobo Writing Life | Yes | Credit the narrator as Synthesized Voice | “Synthesized Voice” |
| ElevenReader (ElevenLabs) | Text only | Upload the text; listeners choose an AI voice in its app | Not stated |
| Voices by INaudio | Limited | Unmodified LPF from Google Play Books, ElevenLabs or Spoken Press; some stores only | Added to description |
| YouTube | Yes | If you own the rights; disclose realistic AI | “AI use” setting |
Audible and Amazon
ACX says “your submitted audiobook must be narrated by a human unless otherwise authorized”, and that “unauthorized use of text-to-speech, AI, or automated recordings in ACX titles is prohibited.” It adds that Audible is working to accept third-party text-to-speech and will share timing later.1 For now Amazon’s routes are its own:
- KDP Virtual Voice is an invite-only beta that makes audiobooks from eligible Kindle ebooks, free.2 It is US-only, for ebooks in English, Spanish, Italian or French; public-domain books and books that already have an Audible audiobook aren’t eligible.3 An ACX audiobook, even of an earlier edition, rules a book out; audiobooks sold outside Audible don’t.3 Creating one is free, with 80 voices (a different one per chapter if you like), and the Virtual Voice Studio lets you fix pronunciations and add pauses.2,18,20 It pays 40% on sales through Amazon, Audible, Alexa and Amazon Music Unlimited, at a list price of $3.99 to $14.99, and titles can take up to 72 hours to appear.2,4 Two catches: Amazon keeps ownership of the audio file, and books in KDP Select can’t be sold in audio anywhere else during their 90-day term (they go into Audible Plus and Kindle+ instead).4,19
- ACX voice replicas are a US beta letting narrators create and sell an AI replica of their own voice; titles are labelled in the narrator field.5
Google Play Books and Apple Books
Google Play converts your ebook with “advanced text-to-speech”, from more than 50 voices, in under 2 hours, and pays a 52% revenue share. Google says it works best for non-fiction with limited dialogue.6 You can download the audiobook to sell elsewhere, as long as it is also on Google Play wherever you sell it and its Google Play price is no higher.7
Apple digital narration is free, in English, for ebooks already on Apple Books, through Draft2Digital, Ingram CoreSource or PublishDrive; it takes one to two months and is shown as “Narrated by Apple Books”. Apple excludes complex formatting, graphic novels, poetry and cookbooks.8 You keep the audiobook rights and can make other versions.9
Spotify, Kobo and Voices by INaudio
- Spotify for Authors accepts digital voice narration “from providers like Google Play Books, ElevenLabs, and more”: tick the option, and Spotify adds a sentence to the description. It doesn’t pass AI-narrated books on to its referral partner.10 Its own creation tools turn an EPUB into an audiobook with an ElevenLabs voice, in the US and in English, up to 5 projects per account.11
- Kobo accepts AI-narrated audiobooks; list the narrator as “Synthesized Voice”, “Female Synthesized Voice” or “Male Synthesized Voice”.13
- Voices by INaudio accepts AI narration only as an unmodified LPF package from Google Play Books, ElevenLabs or Spoken Press, sends it only to stores that accept it, and adds a disclosure. Cloned voices count too, even your own. Public-domain titles aren’t accepted.12
ElevenLabs: ElevenReader, Studio and its partners
ElevenLabs offers two different things, and it matters which one you mean:
- ElevenReader Publishing takes your text (EPUB, PDF, DOCX, TXT or HTML), not a finished audiobook: listeners choose an AI voice in the ElevenReader app, on iOS, Android and the web, and can’t download the book. It’s free, open to authors worldwide in English, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish, German and French, and non-exclusive.21,25 Since 19 February 2026 it pays $0.20 per hour listened by subscribers, up to $2.50 per listener per book, or 60% of a sale after app-store fees.22
- ElevenLabs Studio makes an audiobook you keep: export chapter by chapter or as one file, MP3 or WAV. Free and lower plans export 128 kbps MP3; Pro and above can export 192 kbps MP3 or 44.1 kHz WAV, with optional volume normalisation.23 From there it can send MP3s to Spotify for Authors, labelled as digital narration, or an LPF package to Voices by INaudio.24 ElevenLabs doesn’t publish a loudness target, so check exported files against the store’s rules before you upload.
ElevenLabs’ own documentation doesn’t mention Audible, ACX or Google Play; ACX’s ban on unauthorised AI narration applies to ElevenLabs files like any other.1
How to make an AI audiobook
Make sure you hold the audio rights
Every store requires it. KDP, Google and Voices by INaudio exclude or restrict public-domain books.
Clean the text
Remove page numbers, running heads, footnote markers and broken line breaks; spell out what should be read differently. Tables, footnotes and captions narrate poorly.
Choose a route
A store’s own AI narration (KDP Virtual Voice, Google, Apple, Spotify) to sell in that store, or a tool that gives you files (ours, or a commercial one) to sell where AI files are accepted.
Fix pronunciations and pacing
Listen to every chapter. Respell names and unusual words, and check numbers, dates and abbreviations.
Label it
Tick the store’s AI narration box or credit the narrator as the store asks (“Synthesized Voice” on Kobo). Hiding it can get a book removed.
Are AI audiobooks any good?
Stores are frank about the limits. Google says auto-narration performs best on titles with limited dialogue and emotion.6 Apple calls digital narration a complement to professional narration and says it will keep growing its human-narrated catalogue.9 Amazon’s KDP warns that tables, footnotes, captions and foreign-language passages narrate poorly.2 For non-fiction, an AI edition can reach listeners who would otherwise have no audiobook at all; for character-driven fiction, a human narrator is still the better book.
How to tell if an audiobook is AI narrated
Look at the narrator credit. Amazon says KDP’s virtual voice titles are clearly labelled (TechCrunch counted over 50,000 in May 2025), and ACX voice replicas are named in the narrator field; Apple shows “Narrated by Apple Books”; Spotify’s own tool shows “Narrated by Digital Voice”; Kobo lists “Synthesized Voice”.16,5,8,11,13 On YouTube, creators must disclose realistic AI content, and mass-produced uploads can’t earn money.14,15